Acharya Brojendra Nath Seal College Alumni Association (ABNSCAA)

Acharya Brojendra Nath Seal College Alumni Association (ABNSCAA) took its birth in its formal form on 24th July, 2016. It was registered under the West Bengal Society Registration Act-xxvi of 1961 on 9th Dec, 2016 (Registration no.: S/M-4403 of 2016-2017). Within a short period of time this association has its 41 life members. After its birth this association started to carry on its different activities.  Among these activities mentionable are to spend the accumulated amount for some purpose of the college development. Besides this, feeling the necessity of the course of time, this Association has opened a school for students named Academy of Value Education to impart moral and ethical education towards younger generation of the society. This Academy imparts certificate course of value education for six months. The course curriculum of this Academy was framed by the Syllabus Committee formulated by the Association. Some Alumni take classes often for this certificate course. The First President of this association is Dr. Bimal Kumar Saha (WBES, Associate Professor of Economics and Officer-in-Charge, ABN Seal College). The first General Secretary of this Association is Dr. Prajna Paramita Sarkar (WBES, Associate Professor of History, ABN Seal College).

Annual Report of the Alumni Association — 2023


Acharya Brojendra Nath Seal College has been adorned with an illustrious alumni ,notable amongst them being Legendary folk singer and activist, Abbasddin Ahmad; Kalaguru Vishnu Prasad Rava, a sheer musical genius; Pulin Behari Das, the freedom fighter from Bengal; Thakur Panchanan Barma, memorable social reformer; Shirshendu Mukhopadhyay, renowned novelist; Amiya Bhusan Majumder, noted Bengali novelist and the list being countless; the need for establishment of an Association in registered form was deeply felt ,the culmination of which happened with the eventual birth of Acharya Brojendra Nath Seal College Alumni Association (ABNSCAA) in its formal form on 24th July, 2016.It got registered under the West Bengal Society Registration Act-XXVI of 1961 on 9th Dec, 2016 ( S/M-4403 of 2016-17). Within a short period of time, the Association has managed to extend its life membership from 20 to 50. The first President of this Association was Dr. Bimal Kumar Saha, Associate Professor of Economics, WBES (Alumnus: 1976-80) and first General Secretary was Dr. Prajna Paramita Sarkar, Associate Professor of History, WBES (Alumnus: 1992-95).It must be accepted that though the Alumni bonding got its formalized shape in the form of an Association in 2016 , it always kept its existence felt, through participating in the progress of the Institute and contributing towards the enhancement of their Alma mater . After its genesis as ABNSCAA, it luminously started to carry on different activities such as extending
fund to the college for the purpose of developmental works such as, it has opened a School for Value Education and successfully completed a certificate course on it. Owing to the surge of Covid19 Pandemic as the college was closed, the Association was able to contribute a sum of money only for the plantation purpose and maintenance of gardens within the college campus and hostels. After the pandemic, the Association continues its responsibility of funding for maintenance of the gardens of both College and the Hostels and the re-construction of the unmetalled road stretching from the English Department to Geography Department into a metalled one. Furthermore, the ABNSCAA contributes prize money for meritorious students. Recently the Alumni Association arranged for an Alumni meet on 15th of June,2023,wherein the alumnus presently settled in different parts of the country came up and that resulted in a cordial exchange of healthy ideas and opinion. Some of the alumnus have promised to contribute a handsome amount for purchasing about 10 computers for the College. It is worthwhile to mention that a notable number of alumni from different disciplines have visited our college and given out speeches to motivate the new entrants and show them pathways of prospects.

No Content

No Content