Political Science

>ACADEMICS > DEPARTMENT > Political Science

Departmental information

Political Science, a subject of analysis with such a dynamic scope and area under discussion, enriched with theories of variant nature, is taught in this institution for a very long time. With a strength of 06 faculty members at present, the department offers the subject at both Honours and General level of learning under CBCS pattern of education system. Care has been taken even at odd times such as the ongoing Pandemic, that the stipulated portion of syllabi is completed on online basis and study materials are provided in a meticulous manner to help the students prepare their study, safely remaining at home. Mention must be made that there is a rich departmental library, where from students can get to refer and borrow books during their times of need. To further create consciousness amongst the student- learners who represent the future of the nation, enough encouragement to participate in Essay-writing competitions, Youth Parliament competitions, Quiz programs, Extempore speeches and allied events, connected to the discipline, are provided, for the department takes the unique advantage of the subject related information in this regard.


Sl No. Name Designation
1 Chandra Sekhar Pandit Associate Professor
2 Ramchandra Pramanik Associate Professor
3 Shampa Dutta Assistant Professor
4 Shyamal Das Assistant Professor
5 Hablu Chakraborty SACT


Besides dissemination of subject related matters through teaching-learning, when situations remained favorable , host of cultural activities and observational activities such as Observation of Ambedkar Jayanti, Constitution Day and many more have been organized on a regular basis to nurture the creative attributes of students – learners of the department. Regular publication of Wall Magazines, presentation of seminar papers by students, conduction of educational tours were other major activities undertaken by the department from time to time. The department aspires to undertake many such ventures in time to come when life regains its normal steadiness.

Have a glimpse of our vibrant academic culture:

  • David Held on Democracy: Concepts and Debates (June 2021)

    Enamul Haque Mollick, Assistant Professor, Department of Poltical Science, Bangabasi Evening College, Kolkata.

  • Impact of Covid-19 on Indian Federation

    Dr. Manas Chakraborty, Senior Fellow of ICSSR, Former Emeritus Professor of U.G.C., Former Head & Professor of Department of Political Science, University of North Bengal
    Dr. Gopal Sharma, Associate Professor & Head, Department of Political Science, Cooch Behar Panchanan Barma University
    Dr. Partha Pratim Paul, Associate Professor , Department of Law, Assam University, Assam

  • Celebration of Constitution Day, National Youth Day and Ambedkar Jayanti by the Faculty Members and Students.

Department Contact Info

Bachelor Of Arts in Political Science

HOD:- Chandra Sekhar Pandit

Social Info

Student Resources

Our Gallery

Know more about us.